Skip to content

Dorling Kindersley Doctor Who book

November 1, 2010

Dorling Kindersley asked illustration students at Cardiff to produce some map style drawings for placement in a new Doctor Who book they were working on. I thought I would have a go and produced this section of the map of Llandaff village, where some of Doctor Who is filmed as it is just round the corner from the BBC here in Cardiff.

The larger full map is outlined here but was not completed.

I used pen and ink with water colours. I also sent in some of my other work (you never know your luck). Anyway – I got on quite well with a excellent chap at Dorling Kindersley, called Guy Harvey, via email during the process. I didn’t win the pitch as by the time they had chosen my drawing they were very short on time so went for someone else’s that had been produced digitally and would therefore allow them to make amendments more quickly in the very short time they had until the print deadline. To make it up to me they offered me a two week placement at their offices in London during the summer which I readily accepted.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

