Skip to content

Sad loss

October 25, 2012

I was saddened to hear that one of the Afghan National Army (ANA) commanders I had met in Helmand last year, lost his life in an insurgent explosion not long after I returned home. I met Capt. Najibullah of the 4th Tolay, 1st Kandak for only a short while. Long enough to draw his picture and share some chai and laughs with him and some of his men. He seemed to me to be an intelligent young man and competent commander. An opinion held by many of the officers and men of the QDG that I spoke with during that day and again during the re-union dinner last saturday at which I heard the sad news of his death.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

